Paul Scribner Robotics Lab

Paul Scribner Robotics Lab

 


Students at a RoboCup Junior event at MIT

The Paul Scribner Robotics Lab is the newest addition to our school and its programs. Established in 2007 as a memorial to former student Paul Scribner, the lab is a physical manifestation of the Green Valley mission: to provide a hands-on educational experience for our students.

The lab is a bright, generous, space where children can spread out to do their inventing. There are computer stations where children can test and program their robots. Equipment is available for every student.

Each group works with one another to design, create, and program a robot to meet a designated challenge.

A robotics class meets in the lab once each week to learn robot construction and programming principles. They learn to build robots using the latest Robotics Systems, as well as principles of motion and gearing, and use of light, touch, and ultrasonic sensors.

Each year, students compete in a variety of robot challenges that include mazes, obstacle courses, races, and soccer. Students have joined competitions at MIT, Carnegie-Mellon, and RoboCup Junior Competitions in Australia, Italy, Seattle and Montreal.

With the addition of the Paul Scribner Robotics Lab, Green Valley School will be better able to continue its tradition of Robotics excellence.



Working in the lab with Vex Robotics

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, Aug. 26--First day of school for students

Friday to Monday, Aug. 29 to Sept. 1--no school, Labor Day weekend

Friday, Sept. 5--Pizza Friday begins

Thursday, Friday Sept. 4-5--Jr High overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Thursday, Friday, Sept. 11-12--Upper El overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Tuesday, Sept. 16--Community meeting hosted by the Jr. High--11:00 a.m.

Friday, Sept. 19--Barn Dance--Pot luck dinner and dancing in the barn for all GVS families. A not-to-be missed event!

Wednesday, Oct. 1--Class pictures in the morning

Thursday, Oct. 2--Spelling Bee at 11:00 a.m.

Friday, Oct. 3--Progress reports out

Monday, Oct. 13--No school, Columbus Day

Tuesday, Oct. 21--Community meeting hosted by the Lower El--11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 29--International Day

Wednesday, Nov. 5--Open House 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. for families interested in finding out more about GVS

Download the 2014-15 Calendar