Upper Elementary Schedule

Return to Upper Elementary Tour


  • 7:30 to 8:00 Early Care Arrival
  • 8:00 to 8:30 Arrival
  • 8:30 School Day Begins
  • 8:30 to 9:00 Morning Circle
  • 9:00 to 11:45 Morning Work Time
  • 11:45 to 12:15 Recess
  • 12:15 to 12:45 Lunch
  • 12:45 to 2:45 Afternoon Activities (Music, Art, French, Projects)
  • 2:45 School Day Ends
  • 5:45 Aftercare Ends


We seek to involve the student in life outside the classroom walls as part of a well-rounded approach to preparing students for life. Some of the field trips we have enjoyed:


An overnight hike in the White Mountains of New Hampshire
NH History Museum
Boston Museum of Science
The Freedom Trail
Currier Museum of Art
Christa McAuliffe Planetarium
Multi-day excursion to Montreal
Ferry Beach Ecology School
Boott Cotton Mill (after reading Lyddie by K. Paterson)
Moat Mt on a rock hunting expedition
Montshire Science Museum overnight
Mt. Washington Weather Observatory
Manchester Airport
Ragged Mountain Skiing
Capitol Center for the Arts
Squam Lake Natural Science Center

Return to Upper Elementary Tour

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, Aug. 26--First day of school for students

Friday to Monday, Aug. 29 to Sept. 1--no school, Labor Day weekend

Friday, Sept. 5--Pizza Friday begins

Thursday, Friday Sept. 4-5--Jr High overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Thursday, Friday, Sept. 11-12--Upper El overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Tuesday, Sept. 16--Community meeting hosted by the Jr. High--11:00 a.m.

Friday, Sept. 19--Barn Dance--Pot luck dinner and dancing in the barn for all GVS families. A not-to-be missed event!

Wednesday, Oct. 1--Class pictures in the morning

Thursday, Oct. 2--Spelling Bee at 11:00 a.m.

Friday, Oct. 3--Progress reports out

Monday, Oct. 13--No school, Columbus Day

Tuesday, Oct. 21--Community meeting hosted by the Lower El--11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 29--International Day

Wednesday, Nov. 5--Open House 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. for families interested in finding out more about GVS

Download the 2014-15 Calendar