Robotics Camp


Robotics Camp 2009 for students ages 9 and up

In the brand new Paul Scribner Robotics Lab at GVS

This hands-on summer program will immerse you in the exciting and popular world of robotics. Students will learn about topics such as gear ratios, locomotion and energy as they construct robots with the new Lego Mindstorms NXT and VEX Robotics kits. During the week students will learn how to design, build, program and control robots while putting them through a series of real-world challenges. This camp is ideal for students who love to build things with their hands and want to learn more about mechanical and programming concepts. This camp will challenge you to think critically and work with others to solve problems. Whether you are brand new to programming and robotics or already have experience and are an aspiring engineer, this camp will allow you to increase your knowledge while having an amazing time along with other students with similar interests.

 

Week 1: July 20-24, 2009--Ages 9 and up
Week 2: July 27-31, 2009--Ages 9 and up

Hours 9:00 to 3:00
Cost: $200 per week

 

Topics Covered:

  1. Learn robot construction principles using Lego Technic parts.
  2. Build robots using Lego NXT and VEX Robotics Systems.
  3. Program robots using RobotC
  4. Learn principles of motion and gearing and use of light, touch and ultrasonic sensors.
  5. Compete in a variety of robot challenges that include mazes, obstacle courses, races, and sumo wrestling.

Please Download a Registration Form here. Spaces limited.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, Aug. 26--First day of school for students

Friday to Monday, Aug. 29 to Sept. 1--no school, Labor Day weekend

Friday, Sept. 5--Pizza Friday begins

Thursday, Friday Sept. 4-5--Jr High overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Thursday, Friday, Sept. 11-12--Upper El overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Tuesday, Sept. 16--Community meeting hosted by the Jr. High--11:00 a.m.

Friday, Sept. 19--Barn Dance--Pot luck dinner and dancing in the barn for all GVS families. A not-to-be missed event!

Wednesday, Oct. 1--Class pictures in the morning

Thursday, Oct. 2--Spelling Bee at 11:00 a.m.

Friday, Oct. 3--Progress reports out

Monday, Oct. 13--No school, Columbus Day

Tuesday, Oct. 21--Community meeting hosted by the Lower El--11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 29--International Day

Wednesday, Nov. 5--Open House 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. for families interested in finding out more about GVS

Download the 2014-15 Calendar