Jr. High Montessori Principles

Return to Jr. High Tour


Welding in the workshop.

Overview

The Montessori 3rd plane of development corresponds with the junior high years (ages 12 to 15, grades 7 to 9.) This is a time when the children become humanistic explorers, seeking to understand their place in society and their opportunity to contribute to it.

The Montessori program for children aged 12 to 15 years is based on the recognition of the special characteristics of adolescence. This is an age of great physical and social development, an age of critical thinking and re-evaluations, and a period of self-concern and self-assessment. It is a transition form childhood to adult with the corresponding physical, mental and sexual maturation. Above all adolescence is like an odyssey--arduous yet exciting adventure--where the adolescent tries to find his of her place in the world.


Camping on Kinsman Pond

The Green Valley School Program

We follow the general principles of Montessori into the adolescent years. Our classroom provides practical activities for the learning of age appropriate curriculum. We have special areas devoted to crafts, photography, woodworking, and technology education. In addition, we plan outward-bound style expeditions and extensive field trips--forays into nature and the community to provide a deeper connection between the student and the adult environment. All of these activities coordinate with our academics to provide a very integrated approach, in the Montessori tradition.

Return to Jr. High Tour

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, Aug. 26--First day of school for students

Friday to Monday, Aug. 29 to Sept. 1--no school, Labor Day weekend

Friday, Sept. 5--Pizza Friday begins

Thursday, Friday Sept. 4-5--Jr High overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Thursday, Friday, Sept. 11-12--Upper El overnight camping trip--Mount Percival and Mount Morgan

Tuesday, Sept. 16--Community meeting hosted by the Jr. High--11:00 a.m.

Friday, Sept. 19--Barn Dance--Pot luck dinner and dancing in the barn for all GVS families. A not-to-be missed event!

Wednesday, Oct. 1--Class pictures in the morning

Thursday, Oct. 2--Spelling Bee at 11:00 a.m.

Friday, Oct. 3--Progress reports out

Monday, Oct. 13--No school, Columbus Day

Tuesday, Oct. 21--Community meeting hosted by the Lower El--11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 29--International Day

Wednesday, Nov. 5--Open House 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. for families interested in finding out more about GVS

Download the 2014-15 Calendar